Jacques Demierre 

Sylvie Courvoisier

sylvie courvoisier-jacques demierre live

par sylvie courvoisier jacques demierre | live at label suisse festival

In this collection of pieces, selected from among the output of a recording session that lasted almost two whole days and represented a joint project, the playing reflects the complementary relationship shared by both artists, who set up alternating contrasts and subtle affinities in a trajectory structured enough to endow it with a formal shape, yet sufficiently supple to give each partner the leeway for instantaneous and spontaneous expression. Once again, Jacques Demierre exercises his intellectual and technical mastery – and a fair portion of wit – in a preconceived compositional approach, arrested and remodelled in the here and now. Sylvie Courvoisier responds with a rebellious energy that owes a lot, culturally and technically, to the fact that she has for some time now been an active participant in the fruitful frenzy and creative ferment of downtown New York. A subtle agreement directs this meeting, as if one would have the Ying of the one evoke the Yang of the other, and visa-versa.


par jacques demierre sylvie courvoisier | deux pianos


01. Arraché 02:29

02. Pendulaire 00:48

03. Haut-le-coeur 02:10

04. Attorno 05:12

05. Tremolio 01:45

06. Incruste 02:44

07. Axe 03:40

08. Etendu 01:18

09. Terminaison 01:12

10. Instant 03:07

11. Quasi 02:49

12. Ecorce 06:03

13. Intime 01:26

14. Contre 01:16

15. Hors 04:42

16. Woo 01:29

17. Alto 01:41

18. Sonne 04:28

19. Strette 00:46

Cover art, Philippe Deléglise

Liner notes, Jean Nicole

Paru le 1 janvier 2000

Intakt CD 064


par jacques demierre sylvie courvoisier | deux pianos


par jacques demierre sylvie courvoisier | deux pianos